Subscribe Today

Midwest Custom Sleds!!

The general snowmobiling discussion. Discuss snowmobile tech, ask about trail conditions, talk about snowmobiling issues, whatever. Just keep it clean!

Midwest Custom Sleds!!

Postby PowerHouse » March 6th, 2002, 7:35 am

Hey guys!
I'm posting this message to get feedback from the snowmobiling community. I am a 24-year-old Minnesota snowmobile entrepreneur! Some of my background is that I have a mechanical engineering degree in chassis and suspensions and have been working in the industry for 6 years now with some of the most front running companies.
What I am looking for is consumer feedback about producing custom chassis for the midwest snowmobiles. Now you look in every other area and industry and they all have some form of custom machines. Such as mountain sleds with CMX, RMI, and Tison, also the motorcycle industry has an insane amount of custom bikes like West Coast Choppers and Arlen Ness. But then you look at the every day midwest rider and he has to ride the basic manufacturer setup. Yeah he can change the rear suspension, a-arms, engine, and plenty of other add-ons but it truly isn't a performance custom. What I am proposing is producing polished aluminum tubular frames with increased rigidity and less weight, one-piece hoods and a full rolling chassis. Customers would have a multiple array of choices when it comes to purchasing a custom. They could just purchase the frame and hood and use their own sled for parts to finish the custom or they can contract the company to produce them with a rolling chassis. These frames and rolling chassis would not be one-offs but use different platforms for each manufacturer. This would give the customer great flexibility in customizing his/her sled but yet keeps the price reasonable enough for the average rider to purchase.